Names of candidates may be proposed by a member of the Governing Body of CSIR; Presidents of academies of all-India character; Vice Chancellors of Indian Universities; deemed Universities and Institutions of national importance; Deans of Science, Engineering, Medical, Agriculture, and Technology Faculties; Directors of the Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT); Directors General of the major R&D Organizations, such as the Defence Research & Development Organization, the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, the Indian Council of Medical Research, India Meteorological Department; Chairmen of Atomic Energy Commission, Oil & Natural Gas Corporation, etc.; Directors of CSIR Laboratories/ Institutes, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Physical Research Laboratory, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, etc.; Secretaries of the Government Science Departments like the Department of Atomic Energy, the Department of Biotechnology, the Department of Environment, the Department of Information Technology, the Department of Ocean Development, the Department of Science and Technology, the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, the Department of Space; etc., Member in-charge (Science) in the Planning Commission (now NITI Aayog); and the former Bhatnagar Prize Awardees.
University Faculties should recommend scientists working in their institutions only and route nominations through their respective Vice Chancellors, while the Faculties in IITs are required to send their nominations through their Directors.  The Directors General of the R&D Organizations and the Chairmen of Commissions may sponsor names of scientists working in their respective organizations.  The Directors of CSIR laboratories/ institutes can nominate candidates in disciplines of their interest irrespective of the fact whether they are working in CSIR laboratories/ institutes or outside.  The recipient of a Bhatnagar Prize can send nomination of one person only for each year’s award. Names of candidates for SSB Prize may be proposed by a Fellow of atleast two of the three Academics identified by the CSIR. The identified academies are : i) National Academy of Sciences (NASc) Allahabad ii) Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc) Bengaluru and iii) Indian National Science Academy (INSA) New Delhi. Nominations from other individuals sponsoring their own names or of others are not acceptable. 
A candidate once nominated would be considered for a total period of three years, if age-wise eligible.  Once such a nomination has been received, CSIR may correspond directly with the nominator for supplementary information, if necessary.  In case a nominee has resigned from his present position in India and has gone abroad, his nomination would become invalid immediately.


18 May 2024,